your artist:

Mense Reents

Mense Reents
all artists:
info

Professional troublemaker Mense Reents has a reputation for blasting the limits and rules with egoexpress (house), Stella (pop) and Die Goldenen Zitronen (political rock), and in doing so contributing something to the respective genres. However, AUS FREIEN STÜCKEN is none of all that. Mense seizes the opportunity of doing a solo album and presenting his rather individual interpretation of aesthetics.
Perhaps it would be art, if it weren’t so much fun.
Let’s call it independent music.

In a very unexcited manner, the tracks create a hypnotic spell out of which the vocals passages evolve. Laced with a very contemporary form of psychedelia, this album is not sarcastic in any way – one could even call it unsarcastically nice. Initially displaying a project-like concept approach, this soon turned into instrumental protest songs in the form of minimal rock, dance music for strange places and pop songs in which club nights resound. In a shattered-esoteric sort of way, the pieces amalgamate, or not, as the case might be – which also explains the title of the album (pun: “Of one’s own free will”/”Made up of separate pieces”).

AUS FREIEN STÜCKEN borders on what one could call electronic music. In fact its electronically generated sounds, self-played and processed samples make it so complex at various levels that one can hardly tell which parts are digital and which analogue. Mense is at home in both worlds and makes distinctions elsewhere.

Besides the maxi tracks THIS IS THE WAY and WORDS, the cornerstones of the album are the two impressive (almost) instrumental tracks BLAUE BERGE and IT DIDN’T MATTER.

Guest musicians include: Thies Mynther (Stella, Superpunk, Phantom/Ghost) as co-author and co-producer on DRESS LIKE AN ALBINO, and Jimi Siebels (egoexpress, Sand11) as co-arranger on 1998.
The Alanis Morissette Lyric Generator (www.brunching.com/alanislyrics.html) spilled out DRESS LIKE AN ALBINO.

Pascal Fuhlbrügge

your artist:

Mense Reents

Mense Reents
all artists:
info

Der professionelle Troublemaker Mense Reents hat eine Reputation mit egoexpress (House), Stella (Pop) und den Goldenen Zitronen (Politrock) die Grenzen und Regeln zu sprengen und gerade darüber etwas zu den jeweiligen Genres beizutragen. AUS FREIEN STÜCKEN ist jedoch ist nichts von alledem. Mense packt das Medium Soloalbum beim Schopf und präsentiert seine höchst individuelle Ästhetik.
Vielleicht wäre das Kunst, wenn es nicht so viel Spass bringen würde.
Nennen wir es Independent Music.

Völlig unaufgeregt entwickeln die Tracks einen hypnotischen Sog aus dem dann die Vokalstücke auftauchen. Durchzogen von einer sehr heutigen Form von Psychedelik ist dieses Album an entscheidenden Stellen unironisch – sogar unironisch schön. Ursprünglich mit einem Projekthaften konzeptionellen Ansatz versehen, wucherten aus diesem Ansatz instrumentale Protestsongs in Form von Minimal Rock, Tanzmusik für seltsame Orte und Schlager in denen Clubnächte nachbeben. In einer Art kaputter Esoterik fügen sich die Teile zusammen oder eben auch nicht – auch daher der Albumtitel.

AUS FREIEN STÜCKEN kann man gerade noch Elektronik nennen. Tatsächlich ist es mit seinen elektronisch erzeugten Sounds, selbst eingespielten und bearbeiteten Samples auf mehreren Ebenen so verwoben, dass man kaum sagen kann, was digital und was analog ist. Mense ist in beiden Welten zuhause und macht Unterscheidungen woanders.

Eckpfeiler des Albums sind neben den Maxitracks THIS IS THE WAY und
WORDS die beiden imposanten (fast-) Instrumentals BLAUE BERGE und IT DIDN´T MATTER.

Als Gäste wirkten mit: Thies Mynther (Stella, Superpunk, Phantom/Ghost) als Co-Autor und Co-Produzent bei DRESS LIKE AN ALBINO und Jimi Siebels (egoexpress, Sand11) als Co-Arrangeur bei 1998.
Der Alanis Morissette Lyric Generator (www.brunching.com/alanislyrics.html) spuckte den Titel DRESS LIKE AN ALBINO aus.

Pascal Fuhlbrügge